# Florida A&M University



Elections and Appointments Committee 54<sup>th</sup> Student Senate | Fall Academic Term 1<sup>st</sup> Session Agenda
Date: August 28<sup>th</sup>, 2024
Time: 4:30pm| Location: SGA Conference Room

# A. Call to Order- 4:50pm

### **B. Roll Call/Verification of Quorum**

- A. Senator T. Brown A
- B. Senator Louis P
- C. Senator Williams P
- D. Pro-tempore Copeland P
- E. Chairwoman Sims P
- F. Senate President Bryant P

## C. Approval of Agenda/Minutes

- Senator Williams moves to add Senate President Bryant to Roll Call/Verification of Quorum; Pro-Tempore Copeland seconds
- Senator Williams moves to accept the changes to the agenda; Pro-Tempore Copeland seconds
- Senator Williams moves to accept this agenda; Pro-Tempore Copeland seconds

## **D. Old Business**

#### none

#### E. New Business

- Vice Chair Elections
- Pro-Tempore Copeland moves to bypass Vice Chair Elections; Senator Williams seconds
- Interviews

- Senator Williams moves to conduct interviews in a For, Against, Abstain roll call vote rather than the utilization of Evaluation forms to identify a favorable recommendation of interviewees; Pro-Tempore Copeland seconds
  - o Law School Circuit Court

Carl Cartwright - Chief Justice

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	-		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	X		
Copeland			

Status: Favorable

Vickie Cartwright – Associate Justice

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			

Status: Favorable

## o Chief Justice, Traffic Court

#### John Williams

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			

Status: Favorable

### o Electoral Commission

Tristen Thompson – Precinct Supervisor

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			

Status: Favorable

- Chairwoman Sims has passed presiding chair to Senate President Bryant

Zoe Jones – Precinct Supervisor

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

### Status: Favorable

Jaelin Sistrunk – Precinct Supervisor

	Tree miles and a second		
Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

### Status: Favorable

Monae Walker – Precinct Supervisor

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

### Status: Favorable

Symone Wright – Precinct Supervisor

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

### Status: Favorable

Jaidynn Bentley – Precinct Supervisor

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

Status: Favorable

Gabrielle Darbeau- Deputy Electoral Commissioner

a .	- · ·		. 1
Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

Status: Favorable

Trenton Swagger – Precinct Supervisor

110111011 2 W #8801 11001110 2 #P 01 W 801			
Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

Status: Favorable

Kenneth Smith – Precinct Supervisor

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	X		
Senator Williams	-		
Chairwoman Sims	X		

Status: Favorable

- Senate President Bryant yields presiding chair back to Chairwoman Sims
- Chairwoman Sims calls a recess for 18 hours, 9 minutes to resume business tomorrow Thursday, August 29<sup>th</sup> at 4pm.

Recess: 8:51pm

Date: August 29th, 2024

- A. Resume to Order 4:30pm
- B. Roll Call/ Verification of Quorum
  - a. Senator T. Brown P
  - b. Senator Louis A
  - c. Senator Williams P
  - d. Pro-Tempore Copeland A
  - e. Chairwoman Sims P
  - f. Senate President Bryant A
  - g. Senator Buggs P
  - h. Chairman Newhouse P
  - i. Chairwoman Phillip P
  - j. A&S Liaison Cooper P

- Senator Williams moved to add Senator Buggs to Roll Call/ Verification of Quorum; Senator Brown seconds
- Senator Williams calls for order of the day
- Senator Williams moves to bypass Vice Chair Elections; Senator Brown seconds

Executive Branch Cabinet

Abriyelle Sanders – Deputy Chief of Staff

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown		X	
Senator Louis	-		
Senator Williams		X	
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			
Senator Buggs	X		

Status: Unfavorable

Lauryn Peppers – Deputy of Athletic Affairs

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	-		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			
Senator Buggs	X		

Status: Favorable

Brittney Young – Chief of Staff

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	-		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			
Senator Buggs	X		

## Status: Favorable

- Senator Williams moves to go back to approval of agenda; Senator Brown second
- Senator Williams moved to strike through Vice Chair Elections; Senator Brown seconds
- Senator Williams moved to add Chairman Newhouse and Chairwoman Phillip to Roll Call/ Verification of Quorum and Final Roll Call; Senator Brown seconds
- Senator Brown moved to accept the changes; Senator Williams seconds
- Senator Williams moved to accept the new agenda; Senator Brown seconds Delaini Dillion Deputy Attorney General

Senators	For	Against	Abstain

Senator T. Brown	X	
Senator Louis	-	
Senator Williams	X	
Pro-Tempore	-	
Copeland		
Senator Buggs	X	
Chairman Newhouse	X	
Chairwoman Phillip	X	

Status: Favorable

- Permission to permanently exit granted to Senator Buggs

Camrin Thompson - Comptroller

	ewinin incinetin computation			
Senators	For	Against	Abstain	
Senator T. Brown	X			
Senator Louis	-			
Senator Williams	X			
Pro-Tempore	-			
Copeland				
Chairman Newhouse	X			
Chairwoman Phillip	X			

Status: Favorable

Imani James – Attorney General

initiani valines Tittorney Ceneral			
Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	-		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			
Chairman Newhouse	X		
Chairwoman Phillip	X		

Status: Favorable

- Senator Williams moved to go back to approval of agenda; Senator Brown second
- Senator Williams moved to add A&S Liaison Cooper to Roll Call/ Verification of Quorum and Final Roll Call; Senator Brown seconds
- Senator Brown moved to accept the changes; Senator Williams seconds
- Senator Williams moved to accept the new agenda; Senator Brown seconds

Brian Moss – Director of Athletic Affairs

Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	-		

Senator Williams	X	
Pro-Tempore	-	
Copeland		
Chairman Newhouse	X	
Chairwoman Phillip	X	
A&S Liaison Cooper	X	

Status: Favorable

Jerome Parris – Deputy Comptroller

	orputy compared		
Senators	For	Against	Abstain
Senator T. Brown	X		
Senator Louis	-		
Senator Williams	X		
Pro-Tempore	-		
Copeland			
Chairman Newhouse	X		
Chairwoman Phillip	X		
A&S Liaison Cooper	X		

Status: Favorable

### F. Final Roll Call

- A. Senator T. Brown P
- B. Senator Louis A
- C. Senator Williams P
- D. Pro-tempore Copeland A
- E. Chairwoman Sims P
- F. Chairman Newhouse- P
- G. Chairwoman Phillips P
- H. A&S Liaison Cooper P

G. Adjournment- 6:25pm